Reviews

9.3
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
9.4
Property Location
9.2
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.5
Value
9.4

Reviews

    Natalie
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 16, 2018

    Great property on the river!

    Everything was great!
    The location was great- it was right on the river. There are free bikes to use and motor scooters for rent. Phong Nha town is a 30 min walk or a 5 min bike ride. You will need to rent a scooter or pay for a tour In order to go to the national park or paradise cave. The beds were comfortable! Breakfast was also delicious. The family that runs the place is very nice and can book tours for you! If you take a night bus from Ninh Binh, they will also pick you up from the bus stop at 4 am for 100,000 dong- we walked- I would advise that you take them up on the service as there are no taxis around at 4am! They also set up a tent for us so we could sleep a couple more hours since our room wouldn’t be ready
    Phuong
    vn

    Review Score

    10
    September 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Phuong
    vn

    Review Score

    8.8
    September 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Phuong
    vn

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Annabel
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    October 20, 2018

    The most friendly hosts we've met so far

    It was the staff at Carambola that made the hotel a standout for us - Ha and his family were very friendly and accommodating. They made everything so easy for us and helped us with late check outs, transportation and tours. Aside from this,the view at Carambola is outstanding. The mountains at Phong Nha are just beautiful.
    Crystal
    gb

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 18, 2018

    Stay here! :)

    The sink was too small to wash my face!
    Beautiful, clean bungalow Gorgeous setting Super friendly helpful owners Food was lovely and especially the breakfast pancakes - yum!
    Wojciech
    pl

    Review Score

    10
    October 14, 2018

    Amazing atmosphere, kindful and helpful staff

    Tatymazing
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    October 9, 2018
    Ha is the owner of Carambola, that have been open for just 6 month. The place is so cute and nice. The bungalows in front of the river are the right place to distress. Breakfast is incredible with delicious pancakes and fresh smoothies. Home made food that was delicious. Ha and his staff helped us to organise the visit to the caves and transportation to the airport. I recommend the hotel 100%. It was lovely.
    Flavia
    ca

    Review Score

    10
    October 8, 2018

    Amazing!

    Great place! The view is amazing, the room was big and comfortable, the hosts were absolutely lovely and made all of us feel at home! Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.
    Deirdre
    ie

    Review Score

    10
    October 8, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Maya
    au

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 7, 2018
    We arrived late at night, and woke up to the most incredible view. The location is only a 5-10 minute bike ride from the accommodation (& bikes are complementary to use)... The staff were extremely polite and so helpful!! Would definitely stay here again.
    Dayle Barnett
    au

    Review Score

    10
    October 6, 2018

    Wonderful riverside stay

    Nothing, everything was perfect!
    The staff were constantly going above and beyond, preempting all our needs, always smiling and helpful. The facilities were spotless and comfortable with a wonderful atmosphere for guests to relax or mingle and we really enjoyed relaxing by the river.
    James
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    October 5, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Paran
    in

    Review Score

    8.3
    October 4, 2018
    Love the view from this place! Our rooms were nice and quaint and the staff helped arrange all our activities during the stay here. Location-wise it seems like it's at the end of the entire strip of hostels and guesthouses, but it really isn't that out of the way, and definitely a steal!
    Dylan Simpson
    au

    Review Score

    10
    October 1, 2018

    10/10

    Nil
    This place is awesome! Amazing view of the river! Bungalows are clean and comfortable, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Free breakfast, nice food and drinks. Easy to book tours and drivers for anything you want to do nearby. Not to mention it's super cheap.
    Mireia
    es

    Review Score

    9.2
    September 28, 2018

    Beautiful cabins and views and friendly staff in Phong Na

    We wanted to use complimentary bicycles, but they didn't have enought for the 4 of us on our first day, which forced us to change our plan, although it was not a big deal. This could be easily fixed by getting more bikes, though. It would be a good idea to tell people when they arrive that the number of bikes is limited, so they plan accordingly. The other problem we had was the location. The place is beautiful but it is a good 30min walk to town,(which we did and didn't mind.) In any case, if you don't drive a motorbike (we didn't), this might be an issue. I'm sure hotel offers taxis to town but we didn't ask. A part from these two things, the other things we didn't like that much are not directly related to the property, I think, but to the way Phong Na tourism is working. The tours offered by the hotel (and similar to the other ones we saw in Phong Na) are really expensive compared to the rest of Vietnam. Visiting 2 caves inside a tour might cost you 60$ more or less. The caves are beautiful, but we didn't want to spend all that money. We decided not to do Dark Cave (which is adventured filled and less sightseeing), but they didn't offer a tour that was only Paradise Cave by itself (or Phong Na cave by itself, or both combined), so we ended up arranging it by ourselves. When we asked for a price of a taxi to Paraside, the price they gave us in the hotel was 700.000D, which also seemed too much (although the cave is far, so now we know it was not a bad price either). We went to the street, and stopped a taxi that just brough people in the hotel, and asked for a price, which ended up being 500.000D. To go to the phong nah cave, it is easy to go by bikes to the boat station. We ended up spending 24$ each instead of more of the double doing it this way. I think that they should think of offering a tour for cheaper budgets, to Paradise and Phong Na together.
    The staff was really friendly and helpful, and the place is just beautiful! we got two cabins, one of them just in front of the river, and the views were amazing! They have a little "beach" that we couldn't use because of the weather, but it looked nice. We ate both nights there (one of the nights it rained a lot!) and the food was good too (also, in town there are lots of delicious restaurants!). The cabins are beautiful inside, beds really comfortable, nice shower too. We got picked up in the Dong Hoi train station, arranged by the hotel (500.000D), and it went smooth and easy. Breakfast was good.
    César
    es

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 27, 2018

    Great surprise!

    Surprising and beautiful place on the river bank, perfect to really enjoy your stay in the city. Adorable staff (they picked us up at the station), great services (motorbike rental for a good price, breakfast, tours) in an unveliable location. Eating/drinking or just resting in the terrace facing the sunset is priceless. The bumgalow is more than you expect, well designed, enough privacy, functional and cozy. Definitely best place to stay in Dong Hoi.
    Georgie
    gb

    Review Score

    7.5
    September 26, 2018

    Good for what you pay

    The lunch/dinner food is absolutely terrible but that's no problem as theres a few great places to eat nearby like the Bamboo Cafe. There are lots of bugs too as your in the wilderness so make sure you bring DEET as the bedroom doesn't have a mosquito net. It's not luxurious at all but completely expected with the price your paying. The motorbikes they have at Carambola are completely useless - get one from the town instead.
    This is definitely one of the best places to stay in the area but don't expect much (but of course you're not paying much either). Tip - don't book any of the tours - you can just get a bike and go to all the places yourself. The owner is a really nice chap.
    Robert
    gb

    Review Score

    9.2
    September 26, 2018

    River side retreat in spectacular national park.

    Ana
    br

    Review Score

    9.6
    September 25, 2018

    Love it!

    I loved the staff and the view! Best view in the city!
Loading reviews...